The King of Carnaby Street 

Set just off Regents street, Kingly Court on Carnaby street is a secret hub of restaurants and bars.

The cute square is home to establishments such as The Rum Kitchen, Pizza Pilgrims and the Life Goddess. Sitting in the sunshine in the square, it is hard to remember that you are slap bang in the middle of the two busiest shopping streets in London.

I was in Kingly Court for a big occasion; it was Ben’s birthday. We chose to go to Whyte & Brown, the ‘proudly British’ restaurant at the top of the square.

The tables outside looked nice, but being a sunny and warm lunchtime, the square was heaving with people, so we sat upstairs, overlooking it.

After ordering the most important element of the meal (prosecco, of course!) we studied the menu.


I already had an idea of what I wanted to try, and luckily it wasn’t too difficult to persuade Ben to share a Black Pudding Scotch Egg with me as a starter! It came with mustard and chive Mayo, and sun blushed tomatoes and herbs.

I’m not going to lie… I had scotch eggs on my brain, and I was craving one like mad. Talk of scotch egg burgers and fancy scotch eggs that are everywhere in preparation for the Edinburgh Fringe Festival had got me in the mood. And it did not disappoint! It was delightful – I didn’t know whether to eat it quickly because I was so excited, or slowly to savour it – and no one should have to think that much just about eating a scotch egg!!

The. best. food. ever

For mains, I had the Chicken Souvlaki. This was a spontaneous decision, as I really couldn’t decide between the souvlaki and the pulled pork burger. Apparently, decisions involving food don’t come easily to me.

We were sitting next to the kitchen hatch, and I could tell that the portions were massive! Even the salads came in a huge mixing bowl-sized dish.

Turning Greek

The Souvlaki was excellent: the chicken kebab was tasty, and it came served with a feta salad, tzatziki, a sweet potato mash garnish, and a homemade flat bread which was was rolled into the shape of a cone.

Ben ordered the Roasted beer can chicken. He went for a half chicken, but the portion size almost defeated him! We shared a portion of sweet potato fries, which came served with feta cheese sprinkled over the top. I hadn’t had sweet potato with feta before, but it was beautiful, and I think more restaurants should do that!

Fresh from the beer can

Feta + sweet potato = match made in heaven

By the end, we were far too full to have space for a pudding in our tummies… but there is always room for another drink. So we crossed over the square and went to The Rum Kitchen to order cocktails.

We sat in the window of The Rum Kitchen, where we could sip our rum cocktails and enjoy the sunshine.

They were delicious – and very strong!

In The Rum Kitchen

Next time, I would like to go to Pizza Pilgrims and have one of their large doughy pizzas. On a sunny day when you’ve had enough of Oxford Circus, Kingly Court is the place to be!

Birthday Ben

 

Leave a Reply

