No. 32

No, this isn’t my 32nd blog post, ‘No. 32’ is the name of a trendy restaurant in Clapham where Ben and I went to celebrate the fact that we have now been together for a whole year.

The restaurant’s full name is ‘No. 32 The Old Town’, because it sits on the corner of Clapham Common and the Old Town side of Clapham.

IMG_0182

No. 32

I was shocked at how busy it was when we arrived!

It was standing room only at the bar and the restaurant section at the back was heaving. When I had phoned to reserve a table earlier in the day, I was told that the only space available was on a sharing table which sat up to eighteen people! I was quite relieved when we got there and the waitress decided that the sharing table was far too busy and managed to find another table for us.

IMG_0181

Busy bar

IMG_8742

The best cocktail: fruity fresh

We went for cocktails to start. In the mood for celebrating, I had the Marmalade champagne cocktail, and Ben had a hot peanut butter one. My cocktail was delicious, very refreshing and smelt nice.

Unfortunately, Ben’s cocktail wasn’t as nice. It came in a beer mug, it looked like a beer, and it was warm! It tasted nothing like peanut butter, and only like a peculiar mixture of spirits, and it reminded me of something you would have on a very cold day to warm up! He didn’t finish his, but watched me drink mine!

IMG_0178

The kitchen

IMG_0177

The busy sharing table

I liked the menu at No. 32 – it wasn’t a standard burger or Italian restaurant, but included more homely meals such as shepherds pie and beef.

I had the Salmon en Croute and Ben had the Chicken and Chorizo schnitzel. When mine arrived, I wished that it had come with chips, but it was actually very filling on its own. Ben’s was tasty too, and it came with house-made remoulade and fries. I was close to having food envy, but my salmon was delicious. It came with a garnish of spinach and sorrel sauce.

Yummy schnitzel

Salmon en Croute

With eyes bigger than our bellies, we went on to order the Dark chocolate mousse, with a brownie base, hazelnuts, and salted caramel sauce. This was good, but not as good as my main course. I think next time, I’d order a starter or a sharing plate rather than a dessert.

IMG_8749

Nutty dark chocolate mousse

IMG_0176

Brownie crown

I had a really nice evening at No. 32, and I can now understand why it was so busy and why advance booking is definitely needed! It’s a good place to go just for a drink, and the food was banging.

IMG_0180

A lonely empty table

Leave a Reply

