Gin time at Mr Fogg’s!

Gin Tucked up above Mr Fogg’s Tavern in central London, and hidden behind a secret door, sits Mr Fogg’s Gin Parlour.


Ben and I headed there on a warm Friday evening prepared to sample as much gin as we could muster. We found ourselves in the right place, as Mr Fogg’s is home to 300 varieties of gin! (Well that was my drinks for the night sorted – I don’t know what Ben was expecting to drink!)


The parlour is decorated like Phileas Fogg’s front room; with trunks for tables, foliage, adventurer hats, tusks, and items that could have been collected anywhere in the world.

There was lots to look at, and the overall effect was homely, cute, and cosy.


Ben and I settled down on a chaise longue by the window, and were rewarded with our first drink in a chunky orb-shaped glass from a bartender dressed in a wenches costume.

It was Mr Fogg’s signature gin, which was Tanqueray and tonic, with ice and botanicals. The botanicals looked like floating potpourri  to me, but the gin experts said that they were specially selected botanicals to enhance the flavours of the gin.

img_4280

Gin bigger than his head

img_4287

In the ‘spirit’ of things

After our first gin, we were handed the ‘Encyclopaedia Gintonica’ listing all the gins kept in Mr Fogg’s cellar for us to choose from. Some of these were recognisable brands, such as Gordon’s and Henrick’s, and others were rare and preserved gins that cost £80 a glass!

Ben chose a gin called ‘Broken Heart’ from his homeland New Zealand, and I courageously opted for a ‘Warner Edwards’ coconut infused gin.

The coconut flavoured gin had a slightly perfumey taste, and reminded me of a pina colada. It was the first time I’d come across coconut gin, and I’d say it was refreshing – even though I might never order it again.

img_4282

Feeling adventurous!

Our chosen gins were then matched with special botanicals by the Mr Fogg’s staff and served in large glasses.

I’m not quite sure what my third and final gin of the evening was, because by this point I was feeling pretty smashed! But I think it was lavender flavoured because it was dyed lilac and had a sprig of lavender balanced on the top of the glass. I usually don’t like egg white in my drinks, but in my new adventure-seeking state of intoxication, I went for it anyway – and it must have tasted great because I finished the whole thing very quickly!


We then explored Mr Fogg’s gin collection…

img_4341

-Two for the way home…

The toilets were cute too!


Mr Fogg’s was a great experience – and I definitely had my fill of gin! I already want to go back.

Leave a Reply

